HCA Logo

Medical Marijuana Identification Program

Backgroundsample med marijuana card

Medical use of marijuana is appropriate treatment in some cases. The Compassionate Use Act (Prop 215) allows medical use of marijuana in California. In addition, was passed to help law enforcement identify Californians who were protected by the Compassionate Use Act. SB 420 also required the Department of Health Services to establish and maintain a statewide medical marijuana identification card and registry program for qualified patients and qualified caregivers. The program is operated by Counties and Ventura County is participating in the program. See the FAQ below for details on who qualifies.


(a) It is unlawful for a physician and surgeon who recommends cannabis to a patient for a medical purpose to accept, solicit, or offer any form of remuneration from or to a facility issued a state license pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 19300) of Division 8, if the physician and surgeon or his or her immediate family have a financial interest in that facility.
(b) For the purposes of this section, “financial interest” shall have the same meaning as in Section 650.01.
(c) A violation of this section shall be a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) or by civil penalties of up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) and shall constitute unprofessional conduct.


A physician may recommend that a person's health would benefit from the use of marijuana in the treatment of cancer, anorexia, AIDS, chronic pain, spasticity, glaucoma, arthritis, migraine, or any other illness for which marijuana provides relief. In such cases, Ventura County residents may apply for Medical Marijuana Identification Cards. Patients and authorized caregivers must have an appointment to apply. You can make an appointment by calling 981-5323. On the day of your appointment you will be coming to the MMIC Program which is located at the following address:

Ventura County Emergency Medical Services
2220 E. Gonzales Rd., #200
Oxnard, CA 93036
Telephone: 981-5323
E-mail: MMICP@ventura.org
Appointments are required

What to Bring to Your Appointment

After you make an appointment, bring the following documents with you. Relevant State forms can be downloaded below.

  • Original written recommendation from your physician on official letterhead or Written Documentation of Patient's Medical Records - DHS 9044 [English] - [Español].
  • Completed Application / Renewal Form (original) - DHS 9042 [English] - [Español].
  • Government-issued photo identification (e.g., California State Driver's License, a California State ID Card, United States Passport, Veteran's Administration ID Card).
  • Proof that you live in Ventura County. For example, a current utility bill, California motor vehicle registration with your current address in Ventura County, or a recent rent or mortgage payment receipt. PO Box addresses are not acceptable for address verification.
  • Annual and Card Replacement Fee: Non Medi-Cal participants, $100.00; qualified Medi-Cal participants, $50.00. Payments can be made by cashiers check, money order or Visa or Mastercard. Please make money orders or cashiers check out to VCEMS. Application fees are non-refundable.

Additional Resources

Copyright © HCA 2017 All Rights Reserved. View our Privacy Policy.