I have a First Conviction for a DUI. What do I do now?
If you fail to enroll, the court may issue an arrest warrant due to a “failure to appear.”
What if the court did not order me to do the program?
Even if not required by the court as part of your sentence, the Department of Motor Vehicles may require you to complete the program in order to get your license back.
What are the program requirements?
The First Offender Program is a 3-month program, consisting of:
- Enrollment & Intake session
- 12 hours of Education sessions
- 18 hours of Group Counseling
- 3 Individual Counseling sessions
This program may be extended up to 6, 9, or 12 months depending on the level of your Blood Alcohol Content at your arrest.
Will the program schedule conflict with my work schedule?
The program offers both day and evening sessions and makes every effort to set up a schedule so it will not interfere with work or school.
Is there any way to “double-up” and go more often in order to finish faster than the full 3 months?
No. Regulations governing VCDUI require that you must be in the program for the full 3, 6, 9 or 12 months as requested by court.
Can I get a restricted license to drive to work and/or the program?
First time offenders who are enrolled in the program may be eligible for a restricted license. If you are eligible, the DMV will generally require that you enroll in a DUI program, provide proof of financial responsibility and pay a re-issue fee.
How much does the program cost?
- The cost of the 3-month program is $943
- The cost of the 6-month program is $1,565
- The cost of the 9-month program is $2,071
- The cost of the 12-hour program is $301
A $400 down payment is required at enrollment.
What if I do not have the money?
No one is denied program services. Financial arrangements are available. You may request a financial assessment.
I am very concerned about others knowing that I’m in this program. How does the program handle this?
Your file and presence along with all aspects of your participation at the VCDUI program are protected under Federal and State laws concerning confidentiality.
For more information contact California DMV – Mandated Actions Unit, (916) 657-6525
DUI Program Resources
- DMV – Mandated Actions Unit, (916) 657-6525
- California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
- Arrest for Driving Under the Influence DUI General Information
- Driving Under the Influence:Immediate Driver License Suspension or Revocation Drivers Age 21 or Older
- California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS), Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Programs
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
- National Institute on Drug Abuse
- Rethinking Drinking